Skip to main content

Hi everyone,

I’m new here and would appreciate your help with some questions I have about the Content Explorer.

1. I’m trying to set it up so that the preview opens when I double-click an image in thumbnail view.

Is there any way to achieve this?

Currently, the preview only opens when I click on the filename or a button.

2. I set ‘select’ for the event in addListener, but it’s triggering when I hit other buttons like the ‘share’ button.

Is there a way to limit the ‘select’ event to only when a file is selected?

Also, what would be the way to make the preview open again when clicking on the same file?

Thanks for taking the time to read this

Apologies in advance if I’ve posted this in the wrong topic, as this is my first time here.

Hello @m-fuji,

Thanks for posting your question! We are looking into possible solutions, we’ll get to you asap.

Cheers,

Olga Stefaniuk

Developer Advocate

Hi @m-fuji!

There’s no built-in way to achieve this using existing props but you can add an event listener that listens to double click events on the bce-ItemGridThumbnail class.

For example, you could have something like:

setTimeout(() => {

document.querySelector('.bce-content').addEventListener('dblclick', e => {

const itemGridThumbnailEl = e.target.closest('.bce-ItemGridThumbnail');

if (itemGridThumbnailEl) {

itemGridThumbnailEl.parentNode.querySelector('.be-item-label').click();

}

});

});

This adds an event listener to the bce-content class since this element should always exist throughout the component’s lifecycle. It’s then checking for double click events of targets inside of bce-ItemGridThumbnail. If e.target.closest('.bce-ItemGridThumbnail') exists, then we know a descendent of the element was clicked so we can trigger the onClick function that will preview a file.

The setTimeout is a precautionary thing to ensure ContentExplorer has been added to the DOM but it might not be necessary depending on where you add it in your script.