Skip to main content

I am a ServiceNow Developer looking to build a Box Integration. Currently, I have ServiceNow configured to make API calls utilizing OAuth with JWT (Server Authentication). The steps I followed to accomplish that can be found here. This does work. For testing and development purposes I would like to configure Postman to emulate exactly what I have configured in the provided link. By that I mean I was to use the same client id, secret id, and point to the same custom app that was created in those steps. I feel like I want to use the developer token generated from the custom app to accomplish this, similar to what Alex responded within this post, however, I don’t see how to point to my custom app. Admittedly, when searching for documentation on how to accomplish this I probably don’t know enough about this process to find the correct steps. Any guidance on how to accomplish this would be appreciated.

Thank you

Hello!

I’m not sure I understand what you mean by “point to my custom app” - In Postman, when you use a developer token in any of the endpoints, it will automatically use the Box JWT application the token is tied to.

Thanks,

Alex, Box Developer Advocate

Alex,

Thank you. I was under the impression that this was the case “In Postman, when you use a developer token in any of the endpoints, it will automatically use the Box JWT application the token is tied to.” Thank you for confirming that. I am not seeing that in my testing however or I am most likely missing something obvious. In Postman I can use the bearer token and run the GET “Get User” and it will return my developer account. I believe this proves the token is working. When I run Get “List Enterprise Users” in Postman I get a 403. In my configured app (ServiceNow) I get the results I expect

I don’t see the disconnect.

I would post the working image but I am hitting this error message “An error occurred: Sorry, new users can only put one embedded media item in a post.”