Skip to main content
Solved

Overage Billing

  • Oct 13, 2026 4:47 PM UTC
  • 2 replies
  • 25 views
  • Translate All

We are a voluntary organisation trying to find our way round Box to share files. We have recently upgraded to a paid version of Box but have now received the attached emails. I don’t know what this means or what I need to do to stop being charged etc  Can anybody help?? For info - we currently have 5 ‘Collaborators’ . Some of these do not use our organisations email address???

Best answer by Rona Box

Hi ​@SSCOM.Energy, 

Welcome to Box Community, and we’re here to discuss the details of seat overage notice that was emailed to you! 

 

Under the Starter plan subscription type - to where your organization’s currently subscribed to. Both managed users and external collaborators count toward the total seat number. Therefore, collaborating with external users consumes paid seats just like managed users do.

 

You have been notified because your organization currently has more active users than purchased licenses.

 

To prevent this moving forward, you can delete external users and instead of inviting them as collaborators, you can just create an open shared link to grant access to your Box contents. 

 

To delete external users: 

Deleting an external user removes all collaborations to which the user has been invited.

  1. Go to Admin Console > Users & Groups.
  2. Select the External User tab.
  3. In the drop-down list, select External Users.
  4. Hover over the name of the external user and select the More Options (more-options-button) button.
  5. Select Delete User.
  6. In the confirmation dialog box, select Delete.

 

Hope it helps! Let us know if you have additional questions. 

 

 

View original

2 replies

Rona Box
  • Community Manager
  • Answer
  • Oct 16, 2026 12:48 AM UTC

Hi ​@SSCOM.Energy, 

Welcome to Box Community, and we’re here to discuss the details of seat overage notice that was emailed to you! 

 

Under the Starter plan subscription type - to where your organization’s currently subscribed to. Both managed users and external collaborators count toward the total seat number. Therefore, collaborating with external users consumes paid seats just like managed users do.

 

You have been notified because your organization currently has more active users than purchased licenses.

 

To prevent this moving forward, you can delete external users and instead of inviting them as collaborators, you can just create an open shared link to grant access to your Box contents. 

 

To delete external users: 

Deleting an external user removes all collaborations to which the user has been invited.

  1. Go to Admin Console > Users & Groups.
  2. Select the External User tab.
  3. In the drop-down list, select External Users.
  4. Hover over the name of the external user and select the More Options (more-options-button) button.
  5. Select Delete User.
  6. In the confirmation dialog box, select Delete.

 

Hope it helps! Let us know if you have additional questions. 

 

 

Translate

  • Author
  • New Participant
  • Oct 20, 2026 1:38 PM UTC

Thank you for this - If they are users rather than collaborators are they able to make changes to documents or just view them? 

Thank you

Alison

Translate