Skip to main content
Solved

data retention after subscription use

  • September 16, 2026
  • 1 reply
  • 28 views

We would like to inquire about data retention after subscription use. If we use the Enterprise plan for one month and then decide not to continue, will the folders and data stored/used during that month be retained for a certain period of time, or will they be deleted immediately once payment is discontinued?


In addition, even if the folders and data are retained for a certain period, we would like to know what activities are available to users other than administrators on the platform. For example, even if platform functions cannot be used, will users still be able to view the stored files and folders?

Best answer by Rona Box

Hi ​@bhlim, 

Welcome to Box Community, and we’re glad to assist! 

Once you cancelled a paid account, an enteprise Box account for that matter. You have two options: 

  1. Cancel your Box account
  2. Downgrade to freemium account, especially if you are looking to retain folders and files that will not exceed more than 10GB. (the maximum storage for freemium accounts)

Cancelling your Box account will prevent your Box access altogether, your contents will be around for a certain period of time but it’ll be inaccessible once you cancel your Box subscription.

 

If you choose this option, better that you download your Box contents before cancelling your Box account. 

 

Please reach out to our Sales team via box.com/pricing if you want to proceed and upgrade to Enterprise plan. 

 

Hope it answers your question! Feel free to reply if you have clarifications. 

1 reply

Rona Box
  • Community Manager
  • Answer
  • September 16, 2026

Hi ​@bhlim, 

Welcome to Box Community, and we’re glad to assist! 

Once you cancelled a paid account, an enteprise Box account for that matter. You have two options: 

  1. Cancel your Box account
  2. Downgrade to freemium account, especially if you are looking to retain folders and files that will not exceed more than 10GB. (the maximum storage for freemium accounts)

Cancelling your Box account will prevent your Box access altogether, your contents will be around for a certain period of time but it’ll be inaccessible once you cancel your Box subscription.

 

If you choose this option, better that you download your Box contents before cancelling your Box account. 

 

Please reach out to our Sales team via box.com/pricing if you want to proceed and upgrade to Enterprise plan. 

 

Hope it answers your question! Feel free to reply if you have clarifications.