Skip to main content
Question

Not require users to create a box account when sharing links

  • August 10, 2026
  • 1 reply
  • 11 views

Hello - What settings in the Admin console will disable account creation when I share links with users? Each time i create a link, it requires the user to create a box account. I do not want that. I want them to click on the link and be able to access, view, edit the folder in question. How can i accomplish this?

1 reply

Jey Bueno Box
Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Community Manager
  • August 10, 2026

👋 Hi ​@therealsook, welcome to the Box Community!


By default, Box requires users to log in if the shared link is restricted to “People in your company” or “Invited people only”. To allow anonymous access without account creation, you must enable the “People with the link” access level:

  • Go to Admin Console > Enterprise Settings > Content & Sharing tab.
  • Under the Shared Links section, locate “Allow shared links for” and ensure it is set to “Folders and files” (or “Folders, files, and hubs”).
  • Under “People who can access shared links”, ensure that “People with the link, people in your company, and invited people only” is selected. This makes the public “People with the link” option available to your users.


📌 Note:

  • While anonymous users can view and download folder contents without an account using a “People with the link” shared link, editing files directly within Box typically requires a Box login to track user changes and maintain version history. If they must edit files collaboratively inside the folder, they will be prompted to log in.
  • If they only need to upload files to the folder without an account, you should use the Box File Request feature instead and ensure that “Require uploaders to log in with a Box account” is cleared in your File Request settings.


Once you have enabled the settings in the Admin Console, you can accomplish your goal when sharing:

  1. Hover over the folder in your Box files view and click Share.
  2. Create a shared link and set the access level to “People with the link”.
  3. Set the link permission to “Can view and download” or “Can view only” depending on your needs).


Thanks, and let us know if you have any other concerns.