Skip to main content
Question

Unable to turn off auto enrollment

  • September 21, 2026
  • 1 reply
  • 10 views

EmmVC

I’m trying to turn off Auto Enrollment and it wouldn’t let me do so.

Not sure if it’s related to me not configuring DNS records on our domain.

Also, what happens if I simply delete the domain on Enterprise Settings > Custom Set Up > Domain Management ??

1 reply

Jey Bueno Box
Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Community Manager
  • September 21, 2026

Hi ​@EmmVC, welcome to the Box Community! I’d be happy to address your concerns, please refer to the information below.

 

Turning off auto enrollment


When disabling Auto Enrollment in the Admin Console (Enterprise Settings > Custom Setup > Domain Management), hovering over the domain, clicking the More Options (...) button, and selecting Disable Auto Enrollment opens a confirmation dialog.


You must check the confirmation box acknowledging that new users signing up under this domain will become unmanaged users before the Disable button becomes active.


📌 See Disabling Auto Enrollment for a Managed Domain for reference


Auto Enrollment requires a verified domain with a valid DNS TXT record to be enabled in the first place. If DNS records are not configured or domain verification is in an Incomplete Setup state, Auto Enrollment cannot be active or properly managed.


Ensure you are performing this action as the Primary Admin, as certain domain management configurations require primary administrator permissions.

 

What happens if you delete the domain


Deleting a domain under Enterprise Settings > Custom Setup > Domain Management has several important impacts and prerequisites:

  • Loss of shared link access: Managed users whose accounts use email addresses under the deleted domain will lose access to shared links.
  • SSO Block: If SSO is enabled for your organization, Box prevents you from deleting the domain until all managed users with email addresses under that domain have changed their primary email to a different domain.
  • Auto Enrollment must be disabled first: You must disable Auto Enrollment for the domain before you can remove domain verification or delete the domain.


Thanks, and please feel free to reply back if you have any other concerns.