Feature Suggestion: Quickly run Word comparison of two versions of document

New Contributor

Feature Suggestion: Quickly run Word comparison of two versions of document

As a lawyer, I often run word "Compare"/redlines of two documents, in order to mark changes. To do this, you need two distinct files to compare - the base document and the new document. Now that Box is compiling all of my versions into one document, I don't have separately named files to compare.

The workaround is that I need to download to my local drive the most recent version, download the base version for comparison, run the redline manually, and then upload the redline back to Box. This is cumbersome.

Here is a great feature opportunity, which might not be too hard since Box already integrates Word/Office Online features: Allow people to check the box on two versions of a document within the versions window in the web app, and then run the Word comparison right from Box. It would save users like me tons of steps. Lawyers in particular use document comparison constantly, as I am sure others do too.

9 REPLIES
Regular Visitor

Re: Feature Suggestion: Quickly run Word comparison of two versions of document

I am a lawyer as well and I found this post looking for guidance on how to compare documents in box.  I need to be able to easily select two documents for comparison from a prior version.  I also want the ability to go back to an earlier version easily if I need to.  I hope Box adds this soon.

New Contributor

Another lawyer here.  If Box wants to be able to seriously compete for attorney business, compared to other document management systems, there has to be a streamlined redline process.  Since the versions add up quickly, you also need to be able to compare ANY version to another, not just the last (i.e., compare v5 to v2, not just v5 to v4).