Disable Collaboration Inheritance From Folder

Highlighted
First-time Contributor

Disable Collaboration Inheritance From Folder

Hi,

I am creating a parent folders lets say "Sales" and added a group which has only "Viewer" access on it and it has many sub-folders. Out of which, there is one folder from which i need to remove all permissions and give a "Editor" permission to our Management group because it has more confidential data.

Now the main problem, when i remove the group which has "Viewer" permission from the confidential folder, it is removing it from entire "Sales" folder because it is inherting from it. So please help me to understand how can i disable the inheritance and make the different permmissions on sub-folders.

Thanks,

Ashish

33 REPLIES 33
Highlighted
First-time Contributor

Re: Disable Collaboration Inheritance From Folder

Hi,

I'm new to BOX and have the same question. I just can't believe that there is no solution to that common use case as described by Ashish when managing a team folder structure. 

Hope, we can get a quick answer or at least an acceptable work around.

Thanks,

Thomas

Highlighted
New Contributor

+1

...third request for the same thing...

Anyone?

- Chris

Highlighted
New Contributor

Unfortunately, one can't disable the inheritance from the parent folder 😞

Check here:

https://community.box.com/t5/Collaboration-and-Sharing/Folder-And-Subfolder-Permissions/ta-p/157

Best,

Oliver

Highlighted
New Contributor

+1 I can't believe Box won't let us have granular permissions by folder. So frustrating... 

Highlighted
First-time Contributor

so what's the point of using box v dbox?  especially since dbox UI is so much better.

Highlighted
First-time Contributor

unbelieavable you are forced to inherit permissions from parent folder! it amkes the architecture so complicated and it must not be that complicated to change this.

IT should be on Box's top priority list...

Highlighted
First-time Contributor