Shared links allow you to quickly copy and share hyperlinks to content stored in Box with your coworkers and friends – both inside and outside the company. Customizable permission levels, expiration dates and optional password-protection make Box shared links a secure, simple way to share important content.
Generating Shared Links
To generate a shared link:
Click the Share button on any file or folder.
Note: For folders, you will have the option to invite collaborators as well. Click Get Shared Link after clicking the Share button to generate a shared link.
A shared link to the folder you are currently in can be found under the Sharing tab of the right hand sidebar.
Alternatively, you can right-click on a file (or click the ellipses (...)) to open the More Options menu, then click Share.
Shared Link Access
When creating a shared link, you will see these options:
People with the link: People with the link can access and no Box account is required. For extra security, you can also set a password or expiration for the link, as well as restrict download and/or preview access for link viewers.
Password-protected shared links are available to all paid Box User accounts.
People in your company: Users with a Box account and who are currently managed users of your enterprise will be able to access content via the shared link. You can set an expiration date and restrict download and/or preview access for link viewers.
When accessing the link, users will be asked to log in to Box to verify their identity. This option will be disabled if you are not using a legitimate, validated business domain to access Box, but can be enabled if you change your log in email address.
Collaborators in the folder can also access content if @Company is selected
People in this folder/file: Only users who have been invited to the item (folder or file) can access the content. Note: Collaborators already have access to their content, but can easily direct one another to a specific file or folder using the shared link.
Remove Link: This option removes and deletes the shared link assigned to that file or folder so it can no longer be accessed, even if someone has the old link
The link options can be set on individual files and/or folders by the owner, across all content a user owns or by the admin for the entire company.
Be aware, people who have access to a shared link (either by you sending them a link or them encountering it somewhere like a webpage or forwarded email) are allowed to see and work with you on the content the shared link points to. Depending on the link settings, this may include downloading or editing the content. Comments on files pointed to by a shared link can be viewed and created programatically via the API. A shared link is a way to work with others around content in Box.