If you've moved an item to the Trash by mistake, you can recover the file from the Trash until it has been permanently purged. By default, items in the Trash will be purged after 30 days. The length of this purge period can be modified by administrators in Business and Enterprise accounts.
Note: Old Box Experience
This page refers to the old Box experience. In Box, hover over a single file or folder with your mouse. If the item looks like the following image, you are in the right place.
If the item does not look like the image above, visit one of the links below instead:
The Trash folder allows you to recover files and folders that have been deleted.
Deleted items which have been moved to the Trash still count towards total storage allocations. When items are deleted from a collaboration folder, both the owner and the user who deleted the item will be able to recover the items from the Trash. Until the item is permanently removed from the trash, the item will still counts toward the owner's or enterprise's storage.
Accessing The Trash
In the header, click on your name, and a menu will pop up. From that menu, click on Trash.
Sorting and Filtering Items
You can sort items in the trash by their name, the date they were last updated, and their size.
You can also filter items using the buttons "Items I Deleted" and "Items I Own".
Items I Deleted will show you all items deleted by you. Items I Own will show you any deleted items that you own, even if someone else deleted the item. If you own the item, and you deleted it, the item will appear in both lists.
Note: Filtering by items you own is helpful when trying to track down content that may have been deleted by a collaborator in the folder.
The Trash folder allows you to recover or empty the entire Trash folder, or specify just a few items as needed. To recover the entire folder, select Restore All from the top of the page. Recovered files and folders will be restored to the location from which they were deleted.
To recover specific items from the trash, simply select the check box to the right of one or more items you want to recover and click the Restore icon.
The following details are restored along with the file:
- Share state (whether the shared link is enabled or disabled)
The following details are not restored:
- Expiration setting on shared links
- Expiration settings for deletion
Admin-set expiration dates will be removed when the file is deleted, but when the file is recovered the Admin expiration dates will be reset and reapplied to the files as if they were a new upload.
Business and Enterprise Administrators have the added options of disabling the Trash feature and customizing the purge duration. These options can be accessed through the Admin Console on the Admin Settings page. Select the Content and Collaboration tab and look in the Trash section.