A "managed user" is a Box account that you directly control through your Admin Console. As an admin, you have the ability to edit, delete, enforce security settings, and run activity reports on these accounts. Any files that these account holders upload into folders they own will count against your total storage allocation.

 

Adding a New Managed User

 To add a new managed user:

  1. Log in to your account and navigate to the Admin Console.
  2. In the left pane, click Users & Groups.
  3. At the top of the page, click Managed Users.
  4. In the Managed Users window, click + Users.
  5. The interface slides down and reveals the new user entry fields. Enter the new user's name, e-mail address, and storage quota.

 

Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 11.19.52 AM.png

  

In the Access permissions pane, if you check Shared contacts, this user will be able to access all other managed users in his or her contacts list when inviting collaborators. External users will not be accessible unless already collaborating.  If you clear this box, the user will access only the people he or she is actively collaborating with, and the user will need to manually fill the contacts list.

 

In the Select groups this user is in section, you can assign the user to a group as a member or as a group admin. Simply select the appropriate access level from the Access Level drop-down menu.

 

How Do I Add New Managed Users-3.png

 

In the Select folders this user can access section, you can make the user a collaborator on a folder owned by your account. Simply select a folder from the list and choose an access level from the drop-down menu. If you don’t see the folder you’re looking for on this list, click Add or Create Folder.

 

Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 11.30.38 AM.png

 

When you're done, click Add User. The newly added user will receive an email containing a confirmation link to create a password and log in to the account.