Although only one main admin of a Business or Enterprise account can exist, you have the opportunity to grant co-admin privileges to as many users as you like.

 

Co-admins have access to the Admin Console, and are able to perform all the same actions as the main account admin, but cannot make changes to the admin’s permissions.  The Understanding Administrator and Co-Administrator Permissions article provides details about the co-admin's role and permissions.

  

To grant a user co-admin permissions:

    • Log in to your account and navigate to the Admin Console.
    • In the lefthand navigation, click Users and Groups.Granting and Modifying Co-Admin Permissions - users and groups link.png

       

    • Click on the user you want to switch to co-admin.  Box displays details about this user's account.

In the Edit User Access Permissions section, check Co-Admin, and then select the subset of granular permissions you want to grant this user:

Co-Admin Options.PNG

 The Co-Admin privileges are:

      • Manage users: Add new users or edit existing user information and access levels (checked by default).
      • Manage groups: Create new groups, assign group admins, or edit existing groups (checked by default).
      • View user’s content: Access any managed user’s files and folders (read-only access).
      • Edit user’s content: Modify any managed user’s files and folders.
      • Log in to users' accounts: Log in to any managed user’s account.
      • View settings and apps for your company: Read-only access to your organization’s settings and applications.
      • Edit settings and apps for your company: Modify your organization’s settings and applications.
      • Run new reports and access existing reports: Access existing reports and create new reports for your enterprise.
      • View policies set up for your company: Read-only access to existing policies for your organization.
      • Create, edit, and delete policies for your company: Change, add to, or modify your organization policies.
      • View automations set up for your company: Read-only access to existing automation processes  for your organization.
      • Create, edit, and delete automations for your company: Change, add to, or modify your organization's automation processes.
      • Create and edit metadata templates for your company: Create and modify metadata templates used throughout your organization.
    • Click Save to confirm these changes.

 

See Admins and Co-Admins: Overview and FAQ for more information.

Note   Business Plus and Enterprise users have the ability to selectively choose which co-admin permissions to assign to a user. Business accounts do not have this option, and have only the ability to designate someone as a co-admin.