The Content & Sharing tab in Enterprise Settings allows you to enable or disable various permission types that are available to managed user when collaborating and sharing files.

 

Shared Links

See Enterprise Settings: Shared Links

 

Collaboration Restrictions

This section allows you to set restrictions for how collaborators can be invited to the content in your, or your managed user's accounts. See a detailed explanation of each permission level.
 
whitelisting - 1
 
  • Restrict invites: This option allows you to set who can invite collaborators. If this option is enabled then only folder/file Owners, Co-owners and Admins (including Co-admins and Group Admins) will be able to invite collaborators to a given folder.
  • Enable invite links: If you enable this function, users will be permitted to use invite links to collaborate.
  • Enable group invites: Enabling this option makes it possible for users to invite groups to collaborate in folders.
  • External collaboration:
    • Enable external collaboration: This allows your users to collaborate with users outside your company.
    • Limit collaboration to whitelisted domains: You can choose to restrict collaboration to an approved set of domains, or a whitelist. This feature is available via both the normal Box UI and the Box API. To enable whitelisted domains: 
      • Click the button to enable.
      • Click Manage Whitelist.
      • Once the Collaboration Whitelist window pops up, enter specific domains to add them to your whitelist. You can also use specific syntax to allow only outbound or inbound collaboration1. Use the "+" sign to permit inbound collaboration, and the "-" sign for outbound collaboration. Use the "*" to include all domains.
      • Here are some examples:
        • Allow all inbound collaboration, but no outbound collaboration: "+*"
        • Allow all outbound collaboration, and only allow indbound collaboration with Company A: "-*" "companya.com"
      1.  Outbound collaboration is defined as a user in your enterprise collaborating on content owned by someone outside your enterprise. Inbound collaboration is defined as a user outside of your enteprise collaborating on content owned by your enterprise. 
    • Users not subject to whitelist: You can allow certain users special privileges to collaborate with domains outside of the whitelisted domains. To grant this privilege, simply enter the names or email addresses of your selected users in the box below Users not subject to whitelist.
  • External Collaborator Invitations: This allows you to restrict external collaborators from inviting other external collaborators into content owned by your enterprise and to prevent them from increasing other external collaborators' permission levels.

Notes on collaboration restrictions: 

  • External collaboration features are only available as part of the Governance package and will not be displayed until enabled by request. Please contact your Box Representative or Box User Services to enable these features. 
  • Collaboration restrictions can be set at the enterprise, user, and folder level. We'll use the most restrictive setting at any given time. For example, if an enterprise allows collaboration with 100 domains and a user within the enterprise further restricts collaborators for a particular folder (in the example below, the user has restricted collaboration to users within box.com and box.net), that folder will be governed by the user's more restrictive settings. 

 

 

Content Creation

  • Prevent content creation at root: This prevents all non-admin managed users from creating folders in their "All Files and Folders" section. Use this option if you would like to create the folder structure for the entire account and invite users into this structure.
  • Limit Tag Creation: This allows you to set who can create tags for files in your account. This can be set to "All Users with tag privilege" (editor or higher), Folder Owners/Co-Owners & Admins, and Admins only.

 

Auto Expiration Settings

  • Shared Links: This allows you to set an auto expiration for all shared links generated in your account. Expired shared links will no longer be accessible.
    • Note: Enabling auto-expiration of shared links for your enterprise will only apply to links that do not currently have an expiration date set. Enabling this setting will not override the dates already set on shared links.
  • Collaborators: This sets a limit on collaboration. A user will be removed from a folder owned by your enterprise account after the specified number of days.
    • Note: Enabling auto-expiration of collaborators for your enterprise is not retroactive. Adding a collaboration expiration date will only apply to collaborators added after the setting has been enabled.

Choose "Save" to save any configurations that you have made.

 

Trash

See Enterprise Settings: Trash