Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

The Different Access Levels for Collaborators

by on ‎02-05-2015 08:56 PM - edited 3 weeks ago by (172,250 Views)

When inviting a user as a collaborator within a folder, you will have the ability to set the level of access that user has to your content. Refer to the following chart to review the different permissions that accompany each access level:

Note: Old Box Experience

This page refers to the old Box experience. In Box, hover over a single file or folder with your mouse. If the item looks like the following image, you are in the right place.

 

Files and folders should look like this when you hover over them.Files and folders should look like this when you hover over them.

If the item does not look like the image above, visit one of the links below instead:

 
Co-Owner
Editor
Viewer Uploader
Previewer Uploader
Viewer
Previewer
Uploader

Download

 

 

 

View / Add Comments*

 

Delete Files/Folders

 

 

 

 

 

View / Create Tasks

 

 

 

Add / Edit Tags

 

 

 

 

 

View Tags

View Metadata

 

 

 

 

 

 

Edit Metadata

 

 

 

 

 

 

Invite People

 

 

 

 

 

Edit Folder Name

 

 

 

 

 

Create Subfolders

 

 

Edit Folder Settings__

 

 

 

 

 

 

Preview

 

Lock/Unlock File

           

Send View-Only Links

 

 

 

Upload

 

 

View Item List in Folder

Sync Folder

 

 

 

 

 

Set Access Permissions

 

 

 

 

 

Restrict Invitations

 

 

 

 

 

 

View Access Stats

 

 

 

 

 

Move

______

______

_______

________

________

_______

________

Copy

      **    
*Comments can only be deleted by the folder owner or the creator of the comment.
**A Viewer cannot copy a file within Box, but be aware that Viewers have the ability to download the file and upload it somewhere else, or they can open the file and copy and paste the content into another file.

 

Available to ALL Accounts

  • Editor: An Editor has full read/write access to a folder. Once invited to a folder, they will be able to view, download, upload, edit, delete, copy, move, rename, generate and edit shared links, make comments, assign tasks, create tags, and invite/remove collaborators. They will not be able to delete or move root level folders..
  • Viewer: A Viewer has full read access to a folder. Once invited to a folder, they will be able to preview, download, make comments, and generate shared links.  They will not be able to add tags, invite new collaborators, edit shared links, upload, edit or delete items in the folder.
    • Details on Shared links
    • If a shared link has not been created for a file/folder, the viewer will only be able to create a shared link with the folder owner's default shared link setting
    • If a shared link has already been created for the file/folder, the viewer will only be able to create a shared link with the access level currently established with the shared link (i.e. A viewer is unable to make a shared link set to "people with the link" become "people in the company").

 

Available to Business and Enterprise Accounts

Note: These permission levels must be enabled by the account admin in the “User Collaboration Settings” in the Admin Console.

  • Previewer: A Previewer has limited read access. They will only be able to preview the items in the folder using the integrated content viewer. They will not be able to share, upload, edit, or delete any content.
  • Uploader: An Uploader has limited write access. They will only be able to upload and see the names of the items in a folder. They will not able to download or view any content.
  • Viewer Uploader: This access level is a combination of Viewer and Uploader. A Viewer Uploader has full read access to a folder and limited write access. They are able to preview, download, add comments, generate shared links, and upload content to the folder. They will not be able to add tags, invite new collaborators, or delete items in the folder. To update a file, users with this permission had to download a file, edit it locally, and re-upload (using the same file name). Effective May 2014, these users can use Box Edit to perform the same action (download, edit, and re-upload) seamlessly.
         Note: Viewer Uploaders cannot modify file names nor delete files. They can only edit files
         using Box Edit or continue to use the manual process of download, edit, and re-upload.
  • Previewer Uploader: This access level is a combination of Previewer and Uploader. A Previewer Uploader has limited read and write access to a folder. They are able to preview, add comments, add tasks, and upload content to the folder. They will not be able to add tags, generate shared links, invite new collaborators, edit or delete items in the folder.
  • Co-Owner: A Co-Owner has all of the functional read/write access that an Editor does. This permission level has the added ability of being able to manage users in the folder. A Co-Owner can add new collaborators, change access levels of existing collaborators, and remove collaborators. However, they will not be able to manipulate the Owner of the folder or transfer ownership to another user.