If you are an editor, owner, or co-owner in a file or folder, you can modify the access levels of other collaborators.

 

To modify a collaborator's access level in a folder:

  • Open the appropriate folder.
  • You will see a list of collaborators in the right-hand sidebar.
  • Click a collaborator's name to to view all the collaborators in this folder.
  • Find the collaborator whose access level you would like to modify. You can search by name using the Filter Collaborators search box in the upper right.
  • Under the Permissions column, click the user's access level to modify it. Select the appropriate access level from the dropdown that appears. If the access level is greyed out, you may not have the necessary permissions to modify that user's access level.

 

Managing collaborators - 1

 

To modify a collaborator's access level in a single file:

  • Locate the appropriate file
  • Click the Collaboration Iconto the right of the file name. 
  • Alternatively, you can open the More Options menu and select Manage Collaborators
  • Find the collaborator whose access level you would like to modify. You can search by name using the Filter Collaborators search box in the upper right.
  • Under the Permissions column, click the user's access level to modify it. Select the appropriate access level from the dropdown that appears. If the access level is greyed out, you may not have the necessary permissions to modify that user's access level. Note: Collaborators in single files can only be granted the Editor and Viewer access levels. 

 


Transferring Folder Ownership

If you are the owner of a folder, you can transfer folder ownership to a collaborator at any time. Simply follow the instructions above, and select Owner from the access level dropdown (this option is only visible to folder owners).  The collaborator you designate will be the new "Owner" of the folder and your access level will be downgraded to "Editor". The contents of the folder will no longer count against your account's storage allowance.

 

Note: If you are transferring a private (yellow) folder, you will first need to invite the user to this folder before you can you transfer ownership.

 

Note: Large folders (containing 10k files or more) may cause the transfer to time out. If you experience any issues, submit a support case so Box can assist with the transfer.

 

Removing Collaborators

If you are an editor, owner, or co-owner in a folder, you can remove collaborators from the folder.

To remove a collaborator from a folder:

  • Open the appropriate folder.
  • You will see a list of collaborators in the right-hand sidebar.
  • Click a collaborator's name to to view all the collaborators in this folder.
  • Find the collaborator whose access level you would like to modify. You can search by name using the Filter Collaborators search box in the upper right.
  • Under the Permissions column, click the user's access level to modify it. Select Remove. If the option is greyed out, you may not have the necessary permissions to remove that collaborator. 

To remove a collaborator from a single file:

  • Locate the appropriate file
  • Click the Collaboration Iconto the right of the file name. 
  • Alternatively, you can open the More Options menu and select Manage Collaborators
  • Find the collaborator whose access level you would like to modify. You can search by name using the Filter Collaborators search box in the upper right.
  • Under the Permissions column, click the user's access level to modify it. Select Remove. If the option is greyed out, you may not have the necessary permissions to remove that collaborator. 

 

Hiding Collaborators

Owners and Co-Owners of folders have the ability to "hide collaborators". With this enabled, collaborators with "Editor" access and below will not be able to see the names of the other collaborators in the folder (Co-Owners will be able to see all collaborators in the folder). When hidden, the word "Someone" will replace their name whenever necessary to maintain anonymity. 

To hide collaborators:

  • Right-click the folder (or click the ellipses (...)) to open the More Options menu.
  • Click Settings to open Folder Settings.
  • Check the box next to Hide collaborators.

Managing collaborators - 2

  • From this page, you can also modify various collaboration settings, including restricting who can send invitations, and who can collaborate in this folder. For more information, see Folder Settings.

 

Collaborator Auto-Expiration

Depending on your organization's Enterprise Settings, collaborators may find that their access to a folder is set to expire after a certain period of time. If a collaborator is set to auto-expire, a clock icon will appear beside their name in the right-hand sidebar (under the Sharing tab). You can hover over the icon to view a collaborator's expiration date.

autoexpire amst - 1

Extending Collaborator Auto-Expiration

Folder owners have the ability to extend the auto-expiration date for a collaborator.

 

To extend a collaborator's auto-expiration date:

  • Click any name in the Collaborators side bar to enter the Collaborator Management screen. You can also navigate to this screen using the Folder Menu - Click the folder name in the folder tree list, then click Collaborators.

autoexpire amst - 3

  • Click the clock icon beside the collaborator whose auto-expiration date you'd like to extend. If there are a large number of collaborators, you can use the search bar in the upper right to filter by a specific name or email. 
  • Click Extend Access

autoexpire amst - 2

  • A confirmation message will be displayed with the new expiration date.