Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
The blueprint for the future of work
Register today!
Attend BoxWorks
Desktop, meet cloud.
Box Drive is the easiest and fastest way to connect to the cloud — without changing the way you work.
View resources

How Can I Make My Collaborators Invisible To Each Other?

by on ‎12-30-2014 02:08 AM - edited on ‎07-24-2017 05:13 PM by (6,398 Views)

There is a setting at the folder level called "Hide Collaborators". When you enable this Folder Properties option:

  • Collaborators in this folder:
    • Cannot see each other.
    • Cannot add new collaborators.
    • Cannot assign tasks to folder co-owners as they are hidden.
  • The folder owner and co-owners are visible to all collaborators.
  • All other collaborators are displayed as Someone in the collaborator's username field.
  • Only the owner or co-owner can add new collaborators.

Note: Old Box Experience

This page refers to the old Box experience. In Box, hover over a single file or folder with your mouse. If the item looks like the following image, you are in the right place.

 

Files and folders should look like this when you hover over them.Files and folders should look like this when you hover over them.

If the item does not look like the image above, visit one of the links below instead:

Prerequisites

To hide collaborators, you must be the owner of the Collaboration Folder.

 

 

Hiding Collaborators

To use this feature, follow this procedure:

  1. Click the dropdown arrow next to the folder and select Properties > General Info. The Folder Properties pop-up displays.
  2. Click the Security tab. Alternately, you can click Properties > Security to get to this tab directly.
  3. Click the checkbox next to Hide collaborators.



  4. Click Okay to save your changes.
With this enabled, only Owners and Co-Owners will be able to invite new collaborators and see the full list of collaborators. Editors will no longer be able to invite other users to the folder.
 
 
Collaborators will still be able to see the names of the Owner and Co-Owner(s), but will see the name "Someone" in place of another collaborator’s name
  • Collaborators will be unable to assign tasks to others within the folder