Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
The blueprint for the future of work
Register today!
Attend BoxWorks
Desktop, meet cloud.
Box Drive is the easiest and fastest way to connect to the cloud — without changing the way you work.
View resources

Step 2: Collaborate with Your Team

by on ‎03-04-2015 04:43 PM - edited on ‎12-17-2015 01:59 PM by

In this article, you will learn:

  • How to share the content you’ve uploaded to Box with colleagues

  • When to share a link to a file or folder vs. when to add a collaborator

 

Now that you’ve uploaded files and folders to your account, it’s time to take advantage of one of Box’s core benefits: working seamlessly with others. With Box, there are two primary ways to share content with colleagues and other associates: 1) by inviting existing Box users to folders, or 2) by sending shared links. In this article, we’ll focus on the first of those two: adding collaborators.

 

 

What’s a collaborator?

Collaborator: A Box user who has been given access to view or modify a particular folder on an ongoing basis. If you’re a collaborator, the folder will appear when you log in to your Box account.

 

To invite collaborators to a folder, click on the "Invite People" box on the sidebar of the folder. A pop-up window will appear. Enter the email addresses of the individuals you’d like to add.

 

Note: This must be the same email address your collaborators have used to register for their Box accounts. Please verify this before you proceed. If a user does not yet have a Box account, they will receive an email inviting them to sign up for a free account. Once they sign up, they will have immediate access to the collaborative folder.

 

Once you have entered them all, click 'Ok,' and emails will be triggered to those contacts notifying them of your invitation. Once they log into their Box account, they will be able to accept or reject your invitation to collaborate on that folder.

 

When collaborators are invited to a folder, the folder icon will change from manila yellow to blue. All collaborative folders will automatically appear at the top of your files list within your account.

 

 

When should I invite someone in as a collaborator versus send them a shared link?

Collaborator: Invite someone into a folder as a collaborator if you're working with them on an ongoing basis, and they need persistent access to the content you're sharing. 

 

Shared link: Send someone a shared link to a folder or file if you merely need to provide quick, read-only access (much in the way you'd send an email attachment). Your recipient can continue to reference that link for the most up-to-date version of the content. 

 

 



Announcements
Welcome to Box! We're glad you're here. Follow these articles to get up and running quickly!