Using Templates in Box Notes

Templates allow you to quickly create a Box Note using pre-populated content. You can choose from a set of default templates, or use custom templates that you or your team has created. This is useful when you need to create a Box Note using a standard format or structure, like meeting agendas, project plans, or calendars.
 
Note: Currently, this feature is not available to free Box accounts.
 

Creating a Note Using Templates

To create a note from an existing template, click on the arrow beside the New button in the Box Notes Sidebar. In the dropdown that appears, click Note from Template

Default Templates
To use one of the default templates provided by Box:
  • Select a template under the Default tab.
  • Click Create. A new note will be created using the selected template.

To use a custom template that you have created or that you are a collaborator in: 
  • Open the Custom tab.
  • Custom templates that you can access will appear in this list. Note: If you cannot find a template that you believe you should have access to, verify that you are a collaborator in the template itself or in the folder in which the template is located.
  • Select a template from the list and click Create. A new note will be created using the selected template.

Alternatively, you can open the template that you want to use (just like any Box Note), then click Use this Template in the top right.

A new Box Note will be created using the template you have open. 
 

To use a custom template that you have received a shared link to: 
Templates sent via shared link will not appear in the Custom tab of the Template Picker. You will need to click on the shared link you were sent to open the template (just like any Box Note). Then click Use this Template in the top right.

A new Box Note will be created using the template you have open. 
 

Creating a Custom Template

To create a custom template: 
  • Create a new Box Note.
  • Fill this new note with the contents of your template.
  • Once you are satisfied with your template, open the More Options (...)menu in the upper right corner and select Set this as a Template. This note is now a template.

Notes: 
  • Once you have set a Box Note as a template, that Box Note file is the template file. If you delete this file, no one will be able to use the template. You may want to move the newly created template into a specific Templates folder, in order to keep track of where your templates are stored. 
  • If you would like others in your organization to be able to use this template, make sure that they are collaborators (with any access level) in the template itself, or in the folder in which the template is stored. You can also send coworkers a shared link to the template. This will allow them to use the template, but templates sent to coworkers via shared link will not appear in their Custom Templates list. 

 

Sharing a Custom Template

 

There are a few different ways that you can share a template with a coworker:
 
Add Collaborators to the Folder Containing the Template
The best way to ensure that a coworker will have access to a template is to add that coworker as a collaborator in the folder containing the template. Collaborators (with any access level) in the folder containing a template will be able to select the template from the Custom tab when creating a Box Note from a template. Collaborators with the Viewer Uploader, Editor, Co-Owner, or Owner access level will also be able to edit and disable the template. 
This method of sharing a template is useful if you want a user to have access to a template in the Custom tab, but you do not want that user to be able to have permission to edit the template. By inviting them into the folder, you have them most granular control over what permissions they have in relation to the template. 
 
Invite to Edit the Template Directly
If you want a template to appear in a user's Custom tab when creating a Box Note from a template, and you are ok with giving that user permission to edit the template, you can add that user as an Editor to the template itself (just like any Box Note).
To add a user as an Editor in the Template: 
  • Click Share in the upper right corner
  • Select Invite people to edit
  • Enter the users that you would like to add as Editors. Note that these users will be able to edit and disable the template. If you do not want to give users these permissions, we recommend you add them as collaborators to the folder containing the template, where you can have more granular control over their permissions. 
Once a user has been added as an Editor in a Template, the template will appear in their Custom tab when creating a Box Note from a template. 
 
Send the Template via Shared Link
The simplest way to share a template with someone is to send them a shared link to that template. However, templates sent via shared link will not appear in the Custom tab of the Template Picker. To make use of the template, users will need to click on the shared link to open the template, and then click Use this Template in the top right.
To send a template via shared link: 
  • Click Share in the upper right corner
  • Click Get Link
  • Choose who will be able to access this link. You can choose between People in your company, People in this folder, and People with the link
  • Choose what permission level users who follow the shared link will have. Select Can View if you'd like people with the link to be able to use the template, but not edit or disable the template. Select Can Edit if you'd like people with the link to have permission to edit and disable the template in addition to using it. 
  • Once you are ready, simply copy the link provided and send it to the appropriate users.

 

Editing a Custom Template
The creator of a template and collaborators with the Viewer Uploader, Editor, Co-Owner, or Owner access level can edit existing templates.
 
To edit a Template:
  • Open the template you wish to edit.
  • Open the the More Options (...) menu and select "Edit this Template".

  • You can now edit the template like any Box Note. Your changes will be saved automatically. 

 

Disabling Specific Templates

The creator of a template and collaborators with the Viewer Uploader, Editor, Co-Owner, or Owner access level can disable existing templates.
 
To disable a template:
  • Open the template you'd like to disable
  • Open the the More Options (...) menu and select "Disable this Template".

  • The template will be converted back to a regular Box Note. 
  • Alternatively, you can delete the template altogether. However, this will mean you will have to recreate the template from scratch should you wish to use it again in the future. 
Version history
Revision #:
5 of 6
Last update:
‎09-12-2017 02:52 PM
Updated by:
 
Contributors