Creating and Publishing a Workflow Template

A workflow template defines the steps in a process. Anybody can create a workflow template and invite others to see and launch workflows from the template. Creating workflow templates are particularly useful if you want to define and standardize a series of steps that you and/or multiple other users would need to follow.
 
When defining the process in a workflow template, there are five different step types you may choose from:

  1. Add Content - Prompts a user to add content into the workflow
  2. Provide Feedback - Prompts user(s) to provide feedback on specific content
  3. Edit Content - Prompts user(s) to make adjustments to specific content
  4. General - Useful for steps that are not directly related to content, such as scheduling a meeting between you and a customer
  5. Approve Content - Prompts user(s) to sign-off on specific content
 
You can create templates on your own with the template wizard or from scratch, or build upon existing templates. 
 

Build workflow templates with the Template Wizard

If you’re new to building workflow templates, start by using the Template Wizard.
  1. Click New in the top Menu Bar, then select Template
  2. Name your template, enter a description, and click Next. Tip: Entering a brief description here can help you recall later what this template is for. It’ll also help you to distinguish this template from others you’ve built.
  3. On the Welcome page, click Guide Me.
  4. Follow the Template Wizard's instructions and add workflow tasks as you’re guided through the template building process. Tip: All of the predefined tasks are content-related. To assign any other kind of task, use the General task.
  5. When you’re ready, click Publish. 
  6. At this stage, you will need to designate who can use the template to launch a workflow. You can choose to provide this template to your entire enterprise, or choose specific coworkers by entering their names. Tip: To save the template without publishing it, simply click Exit Edit Mode. The template is saved as a draft and you can return to building it at any time. 
 

Build workflow templates from existing templates

If you’re familiar with workflow templates, you can quickly and easily build a new template from an existing one.

 

  1. On the Published Templates page or the Draft Templates page, right-click an existing template and select Save As. You can also click the Save As icon in the right hand sidebar.
  2. Name your template, enter a description, and click Next. Your copy will appear in the Drafts tab. 
  3. Select the draft and click Edit in the right hand sidebar. You can now modify the template draft as needed, adding new steps and deleting unnecessary ones, re-ordering the steps, requiring different content, and changing actions. Tip: You can optionally set due dates and assign people to complete tasks, but workflow owners typically do these things.
  4. When you’re ready, click Publish.
  5. At this stage, you will need to designate who can use the template to launch a workflow. You can choose to provide this template to your entire enterprise, or choose specific coworkers by entering their names. The new template does NOT inherit owners, editors, and users from the original template, so if you want other people to be able to modify and use your template, be sure to add them. Tip: To save the template without publishing it, simply click Exit Edit Mode. The template is saved as a draft and you can return to building it at any time. 

 

Build workflow templates from scratch

If you’re experienced with workflow templates and want to build one that’s completely different, start from scratch. 
  1. Click New in the top Menu Bar, then select Template
  2. Name your template, enter a description, and click Next. Tip: Entering a brief description here can help you recall later what this template is for. It’ll also help you to distinguish this template from others you’ve built.
  3. On the Welcome page, click Exit.
  4. Add workflow tasks as needed. Tip: All of the predefined tasks are content-related. To assign any other kind of task, use the General task.
  5. When you’re ready, click Publish. 
  6. At this stage, you will need to designate who can use the template to launch a workflow. You can choose to provide this template to your entire enterprise, or choose specific coworkers by entering their names. Tip: To save the template without publishing it, simply click Exit Edit Mode. The template is saved as a draft and you can return to building it at any time. 
Version history
Revision #:
12 of 12
Last update:
‎11-13-2017 07:12 AM
Updated by:
 
Labels (3)

Users online (1,389)