Understanding the Different Types of Tasks in a Workflow

Important

Coming soon: A new Relay that is replacing the existing Relay.


Box is releasing a re-architected Box Relay on June 26th, 2019. If you’re an existing Relay customer, beginning on that date you’ll receive the new Relay version at no additional cost, effective on either your renewal date or December 31, 2019, whichever comes first.


We will continue to support your current version of Box Relay - now referred to as Box Relay Classic - until its end of life on December 31, 2019. By that time you must be fully transitioned to the new Box Relay. After December 31, 2019, you will lose access Relay Classic, and you will also lose any Relay-specific files, such as workflow templates and reports. Your actual content remains in Box and you can continue to access it as you normally do.


For more details, please see the Relay transition FAQ in the Box Community.

When you’re assigned a task, you’ll receive an email notification with a direct link to the task. You can also check the Assigned Tasks page at any time to see all the tasks in your queue. You can sort your tasks, for example, to see those most recently assigned to you or those with approaching deadlines. If necessary, you can reassign a task to someone else or flag a task.

 

This article details the various steps that can be part of a workflow and the basic actions required to complete them. The specifics of these steps may vary depending on your Workflow Template and settings. 

 

 

Tips:

  • To see how your task fits into the workflow, click the name of the workflow in the task header. On the Active Workflows page, you’ll see the steps in the workflow and the status of each step. 
  • If several people are assigned to a workflow step, only one person might be required to complete the task. In this case, if another user completes their task before you complete your task, the task is removed from your queue.
 

How to complete an Add Content Step

The Add Content Step is where you can ask assignees to add content to the workflow. They can either add content from the desktop or select content already in Box. Usually, this is one of the first steps of the workflow, although additional Add Content Steps may occur throughout the workflow. 
 
To complete an Add Content Step
  • Read the instructions set by the workflow owner.
  • Once you have read the instructions, there will be one or multiple upload boxes to upload the content(s).
  • Each box will tell you if the content is required or optional.Completing a Task - 1.jpeg

     

 
To upload content, you can either add from desktop by clicking the add from desktop link or drag and drop the file into the designated area. You can also add directly from Box by clicking the add from Box link.  If you add directly from Box, the file is moved into the Workflow folder.  Relay locks it from there.
 
Note: You can add more than one file per upload box. For example, you can upload multiple receipt pictures to the Add Receipts box. To do so, click the Add More Files button that becomes available when you upload your initial file. 
 
To reassign the General Step task for any reason, click Reassign this Task and indicate the correct individual for reassignment. 
 
When you complete your content upload, click Add to advance the workflow forward.
 

How to complete a general step

In the  general step, you can ask assignees to complete a custom task.  This step can land anywhere within a workflow - in the beginning, somewhere in the middle, or at the end.  As a general step, this task may ask assignees to perform or validate various types of responsibilities that may not be related to content.
Some sample instructions of general steps may include:
  • Tracking and ensuring inventory is accurate
  • Communicating prior progress with the team
  • Measuring and validating successful milestones
As these tasks may require actions outside of Relay, please ensure that the directions set by the workflow owner are correctly followed. 
 
If the instructions are unclear, please contact the workflow owner for clarification. You can do this by flagging the task. To do so, click on the flag icon on the right of the Step title. 
Afterwards, a dialogue box will pop up to add a comment. Click the Flag button when finished or Cancel if you choose not to flag the task.
 
If you want to reassign the General Step task for any reason, click Reassign this Task and input the correct individual for reassignment. 
 
Once you have completed the general step, click on the Done button to advance the workflow forward.
 

How to complete a Provide Feedback Step

The Provide Feedback Step is where you can ask assignees to review and provide feedback on content, and specify how many reviews are required. This step usually follows an Add Content or Edit Content step. Additional Provide Feedback Steps may occur throughout the workflow. In this step, there may also be multiple Reviewers that may be needed to advance the step forward.
 
The Provide Feedback step enables you to view, in the Box Viewer (if applicable), all the content that was uploaded in the Upload Content step. Under the list of the files is an Add Feedback box. Here you can provide your individual feedback to the content you reviewed.
 
To reassign the Provide Feedback task for any reason, click Reassign this Task and indicate the correct individual for reassignment. 
 
Once you've finished providing your feedback, click Done to advance the workflow forward. If the minimum amount of Reviewers have provided their feedback, the workflow will proceed to the next step.
 

How to complete an Edit Content Step

The Edit Content Step is where you can ask assignees to modify existing content or add new content. This step usually follows an Add Content or Provide Feedback step. Additional Edit Content Steps can occur throughout the workflow.
 
The Edit Content step will allow you to view, in the Box Viewer (if applicable), all the content that was uploaded in the Upload Content step. In the viewer, you can edit the file or upload a new version.
 
 
Once you've finished making the appropriate edits, click on the Submit button to advance the workflow forward. The workflow will proceed to the next step.
 

How to complete an Approve Content Step

The Approve Content Step is where you can ask assignees to review and approve content, and specify how many approvals are required. This step usually follows an Add Content, Edit Content, or Provide Feedback step.
 
Additional Approve Content Steps may occur throughout the workflow. In this step, it may require multiple approvers to approve before the workflow advances the step forward. 
 
In this step, there are two primary options: Approve or Reject
 
  • If you select Approve, the workflow advances forward to the next step.
  • If you select Reject, the workflow reverts back to a previous step, as defined by the Workflow Template.
Both Approve and Reject options enable an optional comment, unless the template defines the comment as mandatory.
 

How to complete a Last Step

In the last step, you can ask an assignee to review the uploaded content and designate a Box Folder for the content to move into after the workflow is complete. In some cases, the workflow template already has a predesignated folder for the content. 
 
If a folder is not designated, click the Pick a Box Folder link to display a Folder Picker. In this view, you can either choose an existing folder or create a new folder by clicking New Folder.
 
When you select  a folder, on the Folder Picker click Select, and then on the last step page click Submit. The last step and the workflow are now completed.
Version history
Revision #:
14 of 14
Last update:
Monday
Updated by:
 
Labels (3)

More in this guide:


Go to Guide