Understanding Collaborator Permission Levels

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Contributor

Understanding Collaborator Permission Levels

Newbie here on first Box implementation.  I am trying to weigh the pros and cons of providing access through collaboration vs a shared link.  It seems to me, from the end user's perspective that collaborating with the role of Previewer would be the same experience as receiving a shared link that is read-only.

As the manager of our Box implementation, I lean towards collaboration so that all who enter must have a Box account and I can see who has accessed the site (tighter governance).  Others on my team lean towards just sharing links.  

I would be interested in hearing other people's opinions or experiences with this question.

3 REPLIES
Box Certified Professional

Re: Understanding Collaborator Permission Levels

@AFrench,

The simple answer is that there is no simple answer, at least no blanket, universal truth to be found. Yes, inviting someone as a collaborator will give you a tighter audit trail because it requires the person to have a Box account. In some cases that is a drawback. It depends on your external collaborator base. It depends on the sensitivity of your data and the granularity of controls you'd like to put in place. It depends on your Box contract. A lot of external collaborators may cost you more. 

Even if your contract will allow you unlimited external collaborators, you'll want to put some access lifecycle practices in place. At this time, external collaborators cannot be managed by Box groups. So you'd want to have a good way to track what each external collaborator has access to so they can be removed when they leave their company or role.