What is 2-step verification?

Two-step verification (sometimes referred to as two-factor authentication) is an additional layer of security to protect your account. The second factor (the first being your password) is typically a code sent to your mobile device via SMS or a voice call, or accessed from a security application. This code is entered after you've entered your username and password to further verify your identity before granting access to your data. We offer two-factor authentication as an additional protection to safeguard your content. 

 

Two-factor authentication may have been enabled on your account by your organization's Box administrator. If you have any questions about two-factor authentication or what is required by your organization's policies, please contact the Box Admin for your organization's account. 

 

 

How do I Enable 2-Step Verification for My Account?

As the need for enhanced security increases, Box is proud to provide an extra layer of security through the use of 2-step verification. This process requires a user to present two authenticating pieces of evidence when they log in: something they know (their Box password) and something they have (a code that is sent to their mobile device). Please note that if your account has Single Sign On (SSO) enabled, you will not be able to turn on 2-step verification. 

 

In order to enable 2-step verification for your account, follow these steps:

  1. From within your Box account, click the gear icon in the upper right hand corner and clicked “Account Settings”
  2. Navigate to the Security tab in Account Settings and check the box next to “Login verification” 
  3. Once enabled, you will be prompted to enter your mobile phone number. A six-character alphanumeric confirmation code separated by a space will be texted to the phone number you enter. 2factor_3.png
  4. Enter this confirmation code in the appropriate box and click “Confirm”.

 

Once the code is confirmed, a pop-up will appear that indicates that the setup is complete. Every time you log in through a new browser after this point, you will be sent a new code to your mobile phone and required to enter it.